Anandamaya Kosha

Throughout October our classes were all linked in the Vijnanamaya Kosha, also known as the wisdom layer.

We explored (through our postures) ways to connect with our intuition by activating energy via the Third Eye Chakra centre such as Eagle pose and Childs pose.

We thought about being able to listen to what our body is telling us, and trusting ourself so that we can become the inner teacher.

The Yamas and Niyamas were taken into consideration to nourish our wisdom layer and in different classes we also explored a variety of meditation/relaxation visualisations connecting to our intuition and expanding our love and kindness.

There is a feeling of wholeness and integration, a sense of arriving at your destination, even if you are only there for a moment.

Shiva Rea

Throughout November will be working with the last of the Koshas, the Anandamaya Kosha – the bliss layer. This is seen as our deepest layer, and is where our true nature lies.

It’s about connecting to something higher than ourselves, connecting to what inspires us, and in feeling unconditional love for ourselves and others. It’s the place of peace, love and joy.

Through our yoga practice we can start to become aware of moments of bliss and feelings of connection. Deep relaxation such as yoga nidra and meditation can help awaken this Kosha as can physical postures that wake up our full awareness.

The Five Koshas

The Koshas are five conceptual layers that as yogis we use to understand ourselves and they are mentioned in the Taittirita Upanishad. Through understanding and exploration, we can start to understand the concept that we are more than our bodies, and our minds.

The Koshas are also known as sheaths, and they correspond to the different layers that cover the True Self, which is our pure consciousness. These sheaths are divided into three bodies – the physical body, the astral body and the casual body.

The five Koshas are:

  • Annamaya Kosha – The physical and food sheath
  • Pranamaya Kosha - The energy and vital sheath
  • Manomaya Kosha – The emotional layer and mental sheath
  • Vijananamaya Kosha – The wisdom and intellect sheath
  • Anandamaya Kosha – The joy and bliss sheath

Each month, just like we did with the Vayus, we will look at each of the Koshas in turn to give you more of an understanding of these concepts. The poses, breathing practices and meditation and relaxation will all be connected to this theme.