Annamaya Kosha

The Koshas are five conceptual layers that as yogis we use to understand ourselves and they are mentioned in the Taittirita Upanishad. Through understanding and exploration, we can start to understand the concept that we are more than our bodies, and our minds.

The Koshas are also known as sheaths, and they correspond to the different layers that cover the True Self, which is our pure consciousness. These sheaths are divided into three bodies — the physical body, the astral body and the casual body.

The five Koshas are:

  • Annamaya Kosha – The physical and food sheath
  • Pranamaya Kosha - The energy and vital sheath
  • Manomaya Kosha – The emotional layer and mental sheath
  • Vijananamaya Kosha – The wisdom and intellect sheath
  • Anandamaya Kosha – The joy and bliss sheath

Each month, just like we did with the Vayus, we will look at each of the Koshas in turn to give you more of an understanding of these concepts. The poses, breathing practices and meditation and relaxation will all be connected to this theme.

What We’ll Look At Throughout July

For July we’re going to focus on the Annamaya Kosha – the physical and food sheath. It’s a great one to work with in the summer and the hotter months as we will be slowing things done working with the qualities of being grounded and more attentive, and being aware of the physical body.

We will also explore some practices that relate to the cleansing power of yoga and detox techniques. It’s definitely food for thought this month…

Food is the most important of all things for the body; therefore it is the best medicine for all the body’s ailments.

The Taittiriya Upanishad - Eknath Easwaran