The Sahasrara Chakra class is the last of our monthly extended classes that have each focused on one of the seven chakras.

We’ve now covered the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat and Third Eye chakras.

The Sahasrara Chakra class will be running on 6th October 2019 from 2pm - 4pm at The Nigel Copping Building in Stanstead Abbotts.

Class Seven - The Sahasrara Chakra

The Crown Chakra or Sahasrara Chakra is considered to be the highest of the seven chakras and it is also regarded as a gateway to the energy of the universe itself. It has the thousand-petal lotus flower at the crown of the head that connects your individual awareness with infinite consciousness.

The ancient yogis say that each of the chakras is a lotus that blossoms with the awakening of consciousness.

The chakra relates to the head, brain, pituitary gland, and nervous system and the purpose is awareness and unity with the Divine. The colour the chakra relates to can be violet which is one of the highest vibrating colours or white light which synchronises all colours, the natural element is consciousness and thought, and the mantra sound is the universal sound of OM. When this chakra is in balance you work with realisation, grace, enlightenment and bliss.

The crown chakra begins with evaluating your life, questioning your assumptions and beliefs, looking closely at your actions and motives and looking at things more objectively.

We will look at poses that that require focus and concentration and postures that involve the head or bringing the crown of the head to the floor. Balancing the crown chakra through poses can help to leave you feeling energised from head to toe.

Breathing practices such as kapalabhati and nadi shodhana will be explored. Meditation is a good way to connect with the crown chakra and you will be guided through a Laya Chintana Meditation and a Divine Light Meditation.

We will work through some relaxing yin/restorative poses aimed at opening the seventh chakra which focus on stillness, peace and balance and finally finishing off with Yoga Nidra also known as cosmic sleep, which creates the deep rest and relaxation required for good health, mental peace and higher awareness.

Here are some pictures taken just before April’s Anja Chakra class.

Vishuddha Anja Yoga Class
Vishuddha Anja Yoga Class
Vishuddha Anja Yoga Class
Vishuddha Anja Yoga Class
Vishuddha Anja Yoga Class

The Seven Chakras

Sahasrara Chakra

There are seven main chakras in the body which run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Chakras are subtle energy centres in the body where energy flows through. Each Chakra is connected to our emotional, physical, mental and spiritual spaces and through our yoga practice we can bring these energy systems back into balance.

The Venue

The Nigel Copping Building, Stanstead Abbotts is a great place for an extended class like this. The hall is large, clean and bright, and is only a short walk from the small town which has a pub at either end.

It’s set in a lovely spot next to the River Lea if you fancy a walk before or after the class. Hoddesdon, Hertford and Ware are all just a five, ten and fifteen minute drive away repectively.

Stanstead Abbotts
Stanstead Abbotts
Stanstead Abbotts
Stanstead Abbotts

Information & Contact

Date: Sunday 6th October from 2:00pm - 4:00pm.
Address: Nigel Copping Community Building, Sanville Gardens, Stanstead Abbotts, SG12 8GA.
Parking: Car park at rear of building for venue patrons.
Additional Information: Please use the front entrance.
Directions: Click here.

Nigel Copping Building
Nigel Copping Building

Class price £18

The Extended Sahasrara Chakra Class is limited to fifteen spaces.

If you would like to book a space please get in touch using either of the methods below, or you can always talk to us in class, or take a flyer.